About Us

The Alexandria Area Economic Development Commission (AAEDC) is a non-profit, 501(c) (6) corporation and was established in 1990 by the City of Alexandria as a result of the Star City Program.

To ensure long-term vitality for economic development efforts in the Alexandria Area, the AAEDC sought legislative authority and received approval in 2003, to create the Lakes Area Economic Development Authority (LAEDA). The LAEDA model is the first of its kind in Minnesota to bring together communities and townships under a formal structure with designated EDA powers. This formal partnership between the City of Alexandria and Garfield, and the Townships of Alexandria and LaGrand is considered to be an innovative model in addressing local, long-term economic development issues across geographical boundaries.

The AAEDC continues to receive annual appropriations in support of economic development from Douglas County, and the Townships of Brandon, Carlos, Hudson, and Lake Mary.

AAEDC Social Media Policy 12/2010